We have been receiving reports that some customers are receiving spam/phishing emails that are fraudulent. There are reports that customers of other registrars are also receiving similar spam/phishing emails. The email we have seen has the subject line “Attention: domain will be expired soon.” There is a link the email that says “‘Renew your domain now and while it shows http://www.networksolutions.com it actually goes to http://www.networksolutions.com.com42.asia> now look closer , the link actually goes to the domain “com42.asia “. There are other domains and subject lines that are being used.
Please delete the email if it is suspicious.
We want you to know that we are taking every possible measure to protect our Customers from this attack and mitigate its impact. We are working very closely with the Registries as well as ISPs to detect any new domains from which these attacks are coming and shut them down.
See image below as an example.
( You can click on the image to make it larger)
Please take precautions, when you click on any link in an email. Also please make sure you check the top address bar of your browser before entering any information. A genuine network solutions page should look like this in the browser https://www.networksolutions.com/manage-it/index.jsp, the important part of this URL is that after the https://www.networksolutions.com/ there should not be any additional .com in the URL. Note that the link in the screenshot above has two .coms in the URL. You can also scroll over the link with your mouse and see where the link leads to in the status bar at the bottom of your browser.
If you believe you have received an e-mail of this type and have clicked on the link, and provided your login information, we recommend the following for security purposes:
- login to your account
- review your account information for accuracy
- choose a new password security question and answer
- change your password
If you believe any of your account information has been altered, please contact customer service immediately at: 1-800-333-7680
If you have questions, advice or ideas please feel free to leave a comment here on this blog. Here are some other resources for learning more about Phishing :
http://www.microsoft.com/protect/yourself/phishing/identify.mspx
http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt127.shtm
http://www.antiphishing.org/consumer_recs.html
http://www.businesswritinginfo.com/?p=302
http://www.us-cert.gov/reading_room/emailscams_0905.pdf
http://www.commoncraft.com/phishing
Posts explaining and cautioning people:
http://www.sophos.com/security/blog/2008/10/1901.html?_log_from=rss
http://garwarner.blogspot.com/2008/10/first-enom-phish-now- network-solutions.html
http://www.sophos.com/blogs/gc/g/2008/10/31/network-solutions-and-enom-targeted-by-phishing-attack/
http://www.circleid.com/posts/20081030_domain_slammers_go_phishing/
http://www.google.com/tools/firefox/safebrowsing/faq.html#q4
http://www.pcmech.com/article/fake-network-solutions-email-phishing-scam/
Google+Brought to you by Network Solutions®, a Web.com® service.







Pingback: Two Domain Registrar Scam Emails | Dave Zan's Domain Name Blog
Pingback: Domain Registrar Phishing Scam Update | Dave Zan's Domain Name Blog