Search Support
contact us

Let Us Make it Easy for You. Call 1-877-898-3290 for MyTime Support™. Learn More

More about POP and IMAP

Article Rating: 2 / 5 Votes: 18

Setting to Leave a Copy of the Message on the Server

If you do not leave a copy of the message on the server:

Messages come into your Network Solutions® webmail and when your POP3 program receives a message, it sends a command to automatically delete it from our server.

 

If you do leave a copy of the message on the server:

The messages come into your Network Solutions webmail and when your POP3 program receives a message, it will leave that particular message stored in Webmail for whatever amount of time you have designated.

 

Reasons why you would leave a copy of the message on the server:

  • You have several devices that you use to receive mail. If you don’t select this option, only the first program to receive will be able to see that message. (Remember, it is deleted right after it is received so if you don’t have leave a copy turned on and your computer is faster than your phone, your phone won’t have a chance to see that message.)
  • You would like to use Webmail often and see the same messages that you may have already received to your POP3 program.
  • You would like a back up of your messages in case your POP3 program became inaccessible.

 

Reasons why you would not leave a copy of the message on the server:

  • You don’t log in to your Network Solutions webmail to send and receive mail.
  • You only use one POP3 program to download mail and store local backups
  • You are concerned about the Webmail getting too full or may forget to check

 

 

Important points to remember:

If you are leaving a copy on the server, please check the Webmail often to make sure you don’t exceed the quota you are allotted for your mailbox.

  • nsMail™ and Hosting Package nsMail users – 1GB
  • nsMail Pro users – 2GB 

There will not be a warning that you are getting close to exceeding.  Messages that are deleted because they are popped from the server are not retrievable.  It is highly recommended to purchase additional storage if you plan on leaving a copy of the message on the server.

 

 

How can I adjust this setting in my POP3 program?

Choose the POP3 program that you use from this list in order to obtain instructions.

Microsoft Outlook® Express

Microsoft Outlook® 2003

Microsoft Outlook® 2007

Microsoft Outlook® 2010

Windows® Live Mail

Mac Mail for OSX® 10.3 Panther and Mac Mail OSX® 10.4 Tiger

Mac Mail for OSX® 10.5 Leopard

Microsft Outlook® for Mac 2011

Entourage®

Thunderbird®

iPhone®, iPad®, iPod®

Droid®

 

 

 

Microsoft Outlook® Express

  • From the Tools menu click the option for Accounts
  • From the Internet Accounts screen, choose the Mail tab and select the account you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and selecting Properties on the right.
  • On the Advanced tab you will find the check box to "Leave a copy of the Message on the Server" 

 

Microsoft Outlook® 2003

  • From the Tools menu choose the option for E-mail Accounts.
  • From the Email Accounts screen, choose the option to View or change existing e-mail accounts and press Next.
  • Select the account you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and selecting Change on the right.
  • From the bottom right of the Internet E-mail Settings page select More Settings.
  • From the More Settings page choose the Advanced tab.
  • On the Advanced tab you will find the check box to "Leave a copy of the Message on the Server" 

 

Microsoft Outlook® 2007

  • From the Tools menu choose the option for Account Settings.
  • From the E-mail accounts screen, choose the E-mail tab.
  • Select the account you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and selecting Change
  • From the bottom right of the Internet E-mail Settings page select More Settings.
  • On the Advanced tab you will find the section for Outgoing server (SMTP) port number.
  • If this says 25, remove and type in the alternate port 2525 or 587.  You are free to use either 2525 or 587 and may need to try both of them before you are successfully sending.

  

Microsoft Outlook® 2010

  • From the File menu choose Account Settings.
  • Select the account you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and selecting Change
  • From the bottom right of the Internet E-mail Settings page select More Settings.
  • On the Advanced tab you will find the check box to "Leave a copy of the Message on the Server" 

 

Windows® Live Mail

  • From the Tools menu click the option for Accounts
  • From the Internet Accounts screen, select the account under Mail you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and selecting Properties on the right.
  • On the Advanced tab you will find the check box to "Leave a copy of the Message on the Server" 

 

Mac Mail for OSX® 10.3 Panther and Mac Mail OSX® 10.4 Tiger

  • From the Mail tab select the option for Preferences.
  • Select the e-mail account you wish to edit by clicking on the account listed on the left menu.
  • Select the Advanced Tab
  • You will find the option to "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message"
  • You can either select the interval or uncheck that option entirely 

 

 Mac Mail for OSX® 10.5 Leopard

  • From the Mail tab select the option for Preferences.
  • Select the e-mail account you wish to edit by clicking on the account listed on the left menu.
  • Select the Advanced Tab 
  • You will find the option to "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message"
  • You can either select the interval or uncheck that option entirely 

 

Microsft Outlook® 2011 for Mac

  • From the tools menu select the option for Accounts.
  • Select the e-mail account you wish to edit by clicking on the account listed on the left menu.
  • At the bottom of the account details Select the Advanced Tab 
  • You will find the option to "Remove copy from server after retrieving a message"
  • You can either select the interval or uncheck that option entirely 

 

 Entourage®

  • From the tools menu select Accounts at the bottom.
  • From the Mail tab, select the account you wish to edit by double clicking the account or highlighting it and pressing Edit.
  • Choose the Options tab under Edit Account
  • You will find the option for "Leave a copy of each message on the server" under server options

 

 Thunderbird®

  • From the tools menu select the option for Account Settings.
  • From the left side menu choose the account you wish to edit.
  • Select the option on the left for Outgoing Server (SMTP) and select the SMTP server you wish to edit.
  • On the Server Settings page, you will find the option for "Leave Messages on Server"

 

iPhone®, iPad®, iPod®

  • From your home screen choose the option for Settings
  • From the Settings screen, choose the option for Mail, Contacts, and Calendars.
  • Choose the account you wish to edit by tapping that account.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the next screen and under Outgoing Mail Server select the option for SMTP.
  • Go to Incoming Settings
  • You will find the settings to "Delete from Server" 

 

Droid®

Due to the different versions of Android and the many mail clients that can be used on those devices; this is an example of just one of those clients. Please contact your provider if you need assistance in finding the location of this advanced setting

  • Access your mail application and choose the option (typically a Menu button) where you will be able to see more settings.
  • From the settings screen you will want to choose Account settings.
  • From the account settings screen, you will select Incoming Settings
  • From there you will find the settings to "Delete Email from Server" 

  

 

Related Articles

POP/IMAP Settings

Changing Outgoing Port Numbers

How to Enable SMTP Authentication

Troubleshooting Sending Errors