Knowledge Base

iPage: VPS and Dedicated Hosting - How to restore backups

VPS and Dedicated Hosting: How to Restore Backups

This article demonstrates how to restore backups on a VPS or Dedicated server in WHM.

Click on any of the links below to jump to that point in the guide.

Accessing Your WHM

  1. Log in to your Network Solutions Control Panel.
  2. Click on the Server Control Center icon.
    image.png
  3. Click on the Regenerate Root Password.image.png
  4. Navigate to https://SERVER_IP:2087, where SERVER_IP is the IP address of your dedicated server.
  5. Log in using 'root' as the userID and the password you received in step 3.

    The username for WHM is always "root."

    image.png

How To Access The Backup Tools

  1. Once you're logged in to WHM, type "Backup" into the search box in the top left corner of the control panel.
  2. In the results, click on Backup Restoration.
    Login to your Domains Dashboard

Choose The Backup

  1. You can either select the Restore by Account tab or the Restore by Date tab to queue an account for restoration.
    • The Restore by Account tab allows you to choose an account and see the available backups for it.
    • The Restore by Date tab lets you select a date, and you can see which accounts have backups from that point.
  2. Most of the time, Restore by Account will be the likely choice. When selecting an account, the calendar on the right will display the available backups for it. You can scroll back up for older items. Valid dates will highlight in blue when you hover over them.
  3. In the example below, there is a valid backup for the 'tempeproxy' account from August 30. Backup Restoration
  4. Once selected, the options on the right will allow you to limit the restore scope if you do not want to restore the entire account (e.g., skip subdomains, mail configuration, and/or MySQL Databases). 
  5. When you choose a backup, the Add Account to Queue button will activate, and you can click it. The selected backup will then appear in the Restoration Queue at the bottom of the screen: Restoration Queue
  6. Repeat the process if you have multiple accounts that you want to restore.
  7. Once all necessary backups have been added to the queue, click the Restore button.

After you do so, the status will change from Pending to Restoring Account.
 

Note: This process may take some time, depending on the size of the account. When the backup is finished, the status will update to Completed. You will then have the option to view the restore log or remove the task from the restoration queue.

Lack of Space

The system typically requires about 3x the size of a backup in the available room, for working space, etc. If the backup is 10 GB in size, around 30 GB of room on the drive would be needed for the restore to be completed.
If you don’t have enough space, you can either clear other content off the server, make room, or download the backup to your computer. Once there, you can extract the backup and restore the relevant components manually, using FTP, phpMyAdmin, etc.

 

Get practical tips and product updates on LinkedIn.
Follow Network Solutions